Branches:
A Penny Saved Is a Penny Gained
Stroganov Palace

A Penny Saved Is a Penny Gained

1 march—15 may 2017

The exhibition presents the state payment signs of Russia (coins and paper money) belonging to the period from the time of Peter I to 1917. The exposition in...

Victor Borisov-Musatov and the “Blue Rose” Society
St Michael’s Castle

Victor Borisov-Musatov and the “Blue Rose” Society

2 march—19 june 2017

The art of Victor Borisov-Musatov (1870-1905), one of the leading masters of Russian symbolism, will be presented in St.Michael’s Castle i...

Tickets

Marcello Lo Giudice
Marble Palace

Marcello Lo Giudice

2 march—15 may 2017

Lo Giudice works with the abstract line and uses special figurative means to represent the geographical forms and processes. Man-made and procedural factors are the core aspect...

Georgy Vereisky
St Michael’s Castle

Georgy Vereisky

30 march—15 may 2017

The exhibition is aimed to widely and fully present the artistic heritage of Georgy Vereisky (1886 - 1962) for the first time.

Structures
Marble Palace

Structures

6 april—30 june 2017

The project that includes art pieces from 1960s to present time is aimed to investigate the concept of the structure (from Latin structura ‎- a fitting together, adjustment, building...

Tickets

Vasily Vereshchagin. To the 175th Anniversary of the Artist
Benois Wing

Vasily Vereshchagin. To the 175th Anniversary of the Artist

20 april—24 july 2017

The exhibition is dedicated to the 175-th anniversary of Vasily Vereshchagin, world-known Russian artist famous mainly for his battle piece...

Tickets

The Art of Novgorod the Great in the Time of Prelate Macarius
Benois Wing

The Art of Novgorod the Great in the Time of Prelate Macarius

27 april—1 august 2017

The XVIth century in Novgorod’s art history is a time of true rise but it still has never been an object of a special exhibition project ...

Tickets

Opening hours
Peter I Log Cabin

Monday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Mikhailovsky Palace, Benois Wing are open until 8:p.m.
Tuesday The Museum is closed
Wednesday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Thursday 1:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Ticket offices close 30 minutes earlier

Getting here

loading map...

6 Petrovskaya Embankment

Metro - Gorkovskaya

History

The Cabin of Peter the Great on Petrograd Island is a unique architectural monument and the oldest building in St Petersburg. In the records of Peter’s time the cabin was referred to as the “Initial palace” and the “Red mansion”. The 12,7×5,7 metre cabin, made of hewn pine, was built on May 26th, 1703, in a spot chosen by Peter himself. A wooden mortar and “flaming” cannon-balls were put on the roof to symbolize Peter I’s official army title of an artillery captain.

Attempts to preserve Peter I’s first palace were made even in his time. A special protective structure held by poles, designed by D. Trezzini, was put over the cabin in 1723 and glazed in 1822. The brick case we see today was designed by architect R.I. Kuzmin in 1844. In 1899 two lobbies engineered by architect N.M. Salko were added on the northern and southern side of the brick case. The northern lobby was made for the visitors while the southern one was used for accommodating Peter I’s boat.

In 1742, by order of Empress Elizaveta Petrovna, the daughter of Peter I, a chapel of Image of the Saviour Uncreated-by-human-hands was opened in the dining room of the cabin. A family relic — the icon of the Saviour Uncreated-by-human-hands — which originally belonged to Peter I, was put in the chapel. Peter used to pray in front of the icon, asking for a blessing to found the new capital; the sacred icon followed the tsar at war, during his illness and the funeral. Nowadays the icon is kept in the Transfiguration Monastery in St Petersburg, in a special icon case in the right choir. The Chapel ceased to exist in 1929.

In the 1870s openwork cast iron railing was put around the plot surrounding the cabin and a small garden was laid out. Facing the Neva river, there is a bronze bust of Peter (designed by N.-F. Gillet and P.P.Zabello, based on B.C. Rastrelli’s original). Members of the royal family would plant trees in the garden around the cabin on special occasions. This tradition has now been revived, with Prince Michael of Kent planting an oak tree next to the cabin in May 2011.

In 1930 the Cabin of Peter the Great became a museum. In 1934 it was handed over to the Peterhof complex of Peter’s palaces and later, in 1938, it became part of Peter I’s Summer Palace museum. The cabin was not severely damaged during I Patriotic War. The museum exhibits were evacuated to the town of Sarapul near the Urals. The cabin remained protected by the museum staff and became the first museum in the city to reopen to the public, as early as in 1944.

In early 2004 The Cabin of Peter the Great became part of the State Russian Museum.

Architecture and interiors

The Cabin of Peter the Great is a simple structure with a hallway in the centre followed by the tsar’s small bedroom, and a more spacious study and dining room. The area of the cabin on the outer perimeter is 65 square metres. Remnants of the original paintwork imitating bricks can still be found on the walls of the cabin, with their unusually large multi-faceted windows. This decorative technique was typically used in wooden structures during the first years of the city’s existence.

Wall painting of the cabin is the only surviving example of its kind. The high pyramidal roof is covered with shingles — small flat wooden boards imitating tiles. During the 1971-1975 restoration, conducted by architect A.E. Gessen, the so-called “floral” ornament on window frames and doors, made with oil paints, was cleared. Herbs and flowers — roses, rosehip, peppermint, cornflowers, and carnations — intertwine against the black background. There are remnants of paintings on all internal doors of the cabin. The best preserved painting can be found on the door from the dining room to the bedroom, depicting an interior of a Western European cathedral. The inner walls of the building are upholstered with canvas, as they used to be in Peter I’s time. The windows are glazed with “moon” glass manufactured in our time using the technology of the early XVIII century.

Modern museum exhibition presented items related to Peter’s time, including the memorial. Among them: the uniformed dress of red cloth; East cane work, casting the hands of Peter with the impression made on the Lipetsk Ironworks in 1707, the boat-vereyka, chair of Peter I.

Modern exhibition of the museum comprises items dating back to Peter I’s time, including memorial paraphernalia, such as: red broadcloth uniform, an oriental cane, a model of Peter I’s hand based on an imprint made at Lipetsk foundry in 1707, a wherry, and Peter’s armchair.

The Russian Museum recommends
Collection highlights
Collection highlights

The collection of masterpieces, chosen by the Russian Museum will allow you to make a first impression of the collection of the Russian Museum.

Start

Virtual tours
Virtual tours

Russian Museum - one of the world's largest museums and is perhaps the only country where such a full treasure of national culture are presented.
Virtual tour of the museum complex. 2009 (Rus., Eng., Ger., Fin.)

Details

Online Shop
Online Shop

In the online shop of the Russian Museum presented a huge range of souvenirs, illustrated editions and multimedia disks.

Go to store

Mobile Apps
Mobile Apps

Google PlayApp Store

Details

ENG
Филиалы:
Художники «Общества русских скульпторов»
Михайловский замок

Художники «Общества русских скульпторов»

10 августа—20 ноября 2017

«Общество русских скульпторов» (ОРС) — художественное объединение, возникшее на гребне революционных событий и строительства новой культуры. Основ...

Заказать билеты

Искусство в жизнь. 1918–1925
Корпус Бенуа

Искусство в жизнь. 1918–1925

17 августа—20 ноября 2017

Выставка призвана показать советское агитационное искусство первых послереволюционных лет. Основой экспозиции выставки, проходящей в год 100-летия Октябрьской революц...

Заказать билеты

Дети страны советов
Мраморный дворец

Дети страны советов

7 сентября—20 ноября 2017

Живописные, графические и скульптурные работы, а также образцы прикладного искусства и нумизматики в год 100-летия Октябрьской революции позволят увидеть свершения и трагиче...

Заказать билеты

Плакат эпохи революции
Мраморный дворец

Плакат эпохи революции

13 сентября—6 ноября 2017

Жанр общественно-политического плаката сформировался в отечественном искусстве в первые послереволюционные годы. Выставка, приуроченная к 100-летию Октябрьской революции, ...

Заказать билеты

Мечты о мировом расцвете
Корпус Бенуа

Мечты о мировом расцвете

14 сентября—20 ноября 2017

Выставка продемонстрирует сложную и многогранную картину первых десятилетий ХХ века: от революционных волнений 1905 года до энтузиазма первой пятилетки — отразившуюся в р...

Заказать билеты

Романтический наш император
Павильоны Михайловского замка

Романтический наш император

17 сентября—31 декабря 2017

Высокотехнологичная интерактивная экспозиция «Романтический наш император», расположенная на трех этажах Западного павильона Михайловского замка, посвящена автору и вл...

Заказать билеты

Андрей Тарковский. Художник пространства
Строгановский дворец

Андрей Тарковский. Художник пространства

20 сентября—20 ноября 2017

Выставка «Андрей Тарковский. Художник пространства» посвящена 85-летнему юбилею всемирно известного режиссера Андрея Арсеньевича Тарковского (1932–198...

Заказать билеты

Часы работы музея
Домик Петра I

На центральной информационной стойке вы можете узнать о режиме работы музея, временных выставках, мероприятиях, лекциях, занятиях и концертах, проходящих в Русском музее.

Понедельник 10:00—18:00
Михайловский дворец и корпус Бенуа работают до 20.00
Вторник Выходной день
Среда 10:00—18:00
Четверг 13:00—21:00
Пятница 10:00—18:00
Суббота 10:00—18:00
Воскресенье 10:00—18:00

Кассы закрываются на полчаса раньше

Как добраться

загрузка карты...

Санкт-Петербург, Петровская наб., 6

Метро: «Горьковcкая»

История

Деревянный Домик Петра I на Петроградской стороне — уникальный памятник архитектуры и старейшее здание Санкт-Петербурга. В документах петровского времени Домик именовался «Первоначальным дворцом» или «Красными хоромами». Сруб размером 12,7×5,7 м из тесаных сосновых бревен поставили в конце 26 мая 1703 г. на месте указанном самим Петром I. На крыше здания была установлена деревянная мортира и «пылающие» ядра, в знак того, что дом принадлежит «капитану бомбардирской роты», так числился Петр I в армейских списках.

Уже в петровское время были предприняты меры по сохранению первого дворца Петра 1. В 1723 г. над Домиком по проекту архитектора Д. Трезини возвели защитную галерею на столбах, в 1822 г. проемы галереи остеклили. Существующий сегодня кирпичный футляр был сооружен по проекту архитектора Р.И.Кузьмина в 1844 г. В 1899 г. к каменному футляру над домиком Петра I с севера и юга пристроили два тамбура по проекту инженера-архитектора Н.М.Салько. Северный тамбур предназначался для публики, южный — для хранения лодки-верейки Петра I

По распоряжению императрицы Елизаветы Петровны — дочери Петра I — в 1742 г. в столовой домика была открыта часовня во имя Нерукотворного Образа Спасителя. В нее поместили родовую святыню Романовых — икону Спаса Нерукотворного, принадлежавшую царю Петру. Перед образом Спасителя Петр испрашивал благословение Божие на основание новой столицы, он сопровождала царя в походах, при его болезни и погребении. Сейчас эта икона находится в Спасо-Преображенском соборе Санкт-Петербурга, она помещена в особый киот перед правым клиросом. Часовню в Домике Петра упразднили в 1929 г.

В 1870-е гг. участок вокруг Домика оградили ажурными чугунными решетками и разбили небольшой сад, в котором со стороны реки Невы установили бронзовый бюст Петра I (Н.- Ф.Жилле — П.П.Забелло, с оригинала Б.К.Растрелли). В особых случаях в саду у Домика члены императорской фамилии сажали деревья. Ныне эта традиция возрождена, в мае 2011 г. принц Майкл Кентский посадил рядом с домиком дуб.

В 1930 г. в Домик Петра I стал музеем. В 1934 г. музей «Домик Петра I» поступил в ведение комплекса Петровских дворцов Петергофского объедине­ния, а в 1938 г. присоединен к музею «Летний дворец — музей Петра I». Во время Великой Отечественной войны Домик не понес серьезных повреждений. Экспонаты музея были эвакуированы в город Сарапул, за Урал. Домик Петра находился под охраной музейного персонала и уже в 1944 г. открылся для посетителей, первым в городе.

В начале 2004 г. Домик Петра вошел в состав Государственного Русского музея.

Архитектура и интерьеры

Домик Петра I — это простая в плане постройка — в центре сени, за ними — маленькая спальня царя, а по сторонам более просторные кабинет и столовая. Площадь Домика по внешнему периметру — 65 квадратных метров. Стены Домика, прорезанные необычными большими окнами с мелкой расстекловкой переплетов, сохранили следы раскраски под кирпич. Подобный прием декорировки деревянных сооружений был характерен для первых лет существования города. Роспись Домика является единственным сохранившимся образцом такого рода. Высокая четырехскатная крыша крыта гонтом — плоскими деревянными дощечками, имитирующими черепицу. В ходе реставрационных работ 1971-1975 гг., проводившихся по проекту арх. А.Э Гессена, внутри здания был расчищен так называемый «травный» орнамент на наличниках окон и дверей, исполненный масляными красками. На черном фоне переплетаются цветы и травы — розы, шиповник, мята перечная, васильки, гвоздики. Остатки живописи имеются на всех внутренних дверях Домика. Лучше других сохранилась живопись на дверном полотне из столовой в спальню, где изображён интерьер западноевропейского собора. Стены помещений внутренних помещений Домика, как и в петровское время, обиты морской парусиной. Окна застеклены «лунным» стеклом, изготовленным в наше время по технологии начала XVIII в.

Современная музейная экспозиция представлена предметами, относящимися к петровскому времени, в том числе и мемориальными. Среди них: мундирное платье красного сукна; трость восточной работы, отливка руки Петра с оттиска, сделанного на липецком чугунолитейном заводе в 1707 г., лодка-верейка, кресло Петра I.

Русский музей рекомендует
Шедевры коллекции
Шедевры коллекции

Сборник шедевров, отобранный искусствоведами Русского музея, позволит вам составить первое впечатление о коллекции Русского музея.

Начать просмотр

Виртуальные прогулки
Виртуальные прогулки

Виртуальный тур по музейному комплексу, созданный в технологии панорамной съемки, знакомит с экспозицией, интерьерами и внешним обликом дворцов и садов Русского музея.
Виртуальный тур по музейному комплексу. Старая версия виртуального тура (рус., англ., нем., фин.).

Подробнее

Интернет магазин
Интернет магазин

В интернет магазине Русского музея представлен огромный ассортимент сувенирной продукции, иллюстрированные издания и мультимедиа диски.

Перейти к магазину

Мобильные приложения
Мобильные приложения

Google PlayApp Store

Подробнее