The Russian Museum is the first state museum of Russian fine arts in the
country. It was established in 1895 in St Petersburg by a decree of the Emperor
Nicholas II. Its grand opening for visitors occurred on March 19 (March 7, the
Old Style) 1898.
The Russian Museum today is a unique depository of artistic treasures, a
famous restoration centre, an authoritative institute of academic research, one
of the major cultural and educational centers in Russia, and a research and
instructional centre of art museums of the Russian Federation, overseeing
activities of 260 art museums in Russia.
On 27 November, 2014 St. Michael’s Castle is open from 1 p.m. until 6 p.m.
Ticket-offices close 30 minutes earlier
Sorry for the temporary inconveniences
SPECIAL ISSUE OF THE "CITY TOUR PASS" CATALOGUE. ST.PETERSBURG
1 October - 31 March the Summer Garden is open daily (except Tuesday) from 10.00 a.m. tili 8.00 p.m.(entrance until 7.30 p.m.)
The Summer Palace of Peter the Great is closed for the restoration works.
The "Ludwig Museum in the Russian Museum" permanent exhibition in the Marble Palace is closed for visitors until the beginning of 2015. During this period there would be presented the temporary exhibitions of the Russian Museum.
We apologize for any inconveniences caused
The opening of the ”Archive of Monuments of Russian Icon-painting and Ecclesiastical Art ” exhibition at 4 p.m.
Articles: Nadezhda Belenkaya, Marina Bykova, Dennis Deder, Anatoly Dmitrenko, Georgy Kareyan, Maria Pavliuk, Viktor Vlasov, Georgy Shuisky
Ekaterina and Veronika Shuvalova, Hilde and Michael Zöllner
Palace Editions, St. Petersburg, 2014
160 pages, 147 coloured illustrations, 17 photographs
Format: 32x24; Russian, English