Branches:

Oleg Tselkov

16 september 2004—7 october 2004
This exhibition introduces the oeuvre of the Russian artist Oleg Tselkov, an important representative of the Moscow "unofficial art" of the 1960s. He had to leave Russia in 1977. Among the shown works are 22 from the artist's Paris studio, which have never been exhibited in Russia before. The artist plans to give two of the works - Two with Spades and The Meal - as a gift to the State Russian Museum. Oleg Tselkov was born in 1934 in Moscow Region. In 1953, he graduated from the Moscow secondary art school and entered the Minsk Theatre and Art Institute, but was expelled for formalism a year later. The same thing happened in the Leningrad Academy of Arts in 1955. However, in 1958, he managed to graduate from the Leningrad Theatre Institute, which was an island of liberalism in the post-Stalin epoch. Though actively participating in the artistic life of the underground, Oleg Tselkov rarely showed his works at unofficial nonconformist exhibitions, which took place in private flats, in scientific and research institutes, and in culture-houses. This is why, in the 1970s, he participated neither in the famous "bulldozer exhibition" nor in the exhibition "in Izmailovo". In the 1960s, Oleg Tselkov studied the Russian avant-garde art of the early twentieth century, as well as the traditions of French painting. He is fond of Léger, Primitivists, Rembrandt and Bacon, Mexicans Orozco and Rivera. However, it was Surrealism which came as a real discovery for him, as well as for many artists of his generation. Talking of the point when he found his own artistic way, the artist recalls a moment when, in 1960, he accidentally painted a peculiar human face. "I painted a kind of portrait; this was not a portrait of some definite person, but of everyone in one face, and awfully familiar". Oleg Tselkov's works all include very different components. There are elements of the theatre of absurd in his oeuvre, as well as tragic buffoonery. The artist invents his own theatre, where inflatable rubber puppets, looking like homuncula, perform various scenes - funny, terrible and tragic. The somnambulistic atmosphere of his paintings is matched by a mysterious luminescence of colours, and a slight vibration of the background, created with the use of the barely noticeable relief of the canvases. Oleg Tselkov's works can be found in the State Russian Museum, Zimmerly Art Museum (New Jersey, USA) and in public and private collections in Russia, USA, France and Japan. A catalogue for the exhibition has been published.
Exhibitions
The Light of Learning: Publishing and Educational Posters from the Collection of the Russian Museum

The Light of Learning: Publishing and Educational Posters from the Collection of the Russian Museum

16 december 2020—30 march 2021

The exhibition features posters from the collection of the Russian Museum, relating to education in Russia in the first third of the twentieth century. The exposition includes about 120 works of agitation art of the widest thematic range - from narrow advertising in bookstores, publishing houses and libraries to large-scale propaganda of reading, getting knowledge and education.

Gifts to the Russian Museum from Artists and Collectors. Selected Works. 1898–2019

Gifts to the Russian Museum from Artists and Collectors. Selected Works. 1898–2019

29 july 2020—30 november 2020

To mark the 125th anniversary of the Russian Museum, such an exhibition will be shown in all of its palaces, bringing together items of different epochs and donors, including the imperial family (Alexander III, Nicholas II, Grand Dukes), famous patrons of the arts and many others. General sponsor of the exhibition - VTB Bank.

Also in the Russian Museum
The Russian Museum recommends
Collection highlights
Collection highlights

The collection of masterpieces, chosen by the Russian Museum will allow you to make a first impression of the collection of the Russian Museum.

Start

Virtual tours
Virtual tours

Russian Museum - one of the world's largest museums and is perhaps the only country where such a full treasure of national culture are presented.
Virtual tour of the museum complex. 2009 (Rus., Eng., Ger., Fin.)

Details

Online Shop
Online Shop

In the online shop of the Russian Museum presented a huge range of souvenirs, illustrated editions and multimedia disks.

Go to store

Mobile Apps
Mobile Apps

Google PlayApp Store

Details

ENG
Филиалы:

Олег Целков

16 сентября 2004—7 октября 2004
Выставка знакомит с творчеством российского художника Олега Целкова, одного из значительных мастеров московского "неофициального искусства" 1960-х годов, вынужденного уехать из России в 1977 году. В состав экспозиции вошло 22 произведения из мастерской художника в Париже, ранее никогда не экспонировавшиеся в России. Две работы - "Двое с лопатами" и "Трапеза" - предназначены автором в подарок Государственному Русскому музею Олег Целков родился в 1934 году в Московской области. В 1953 году закончил Московскую среднюю художественную школу, и, поступив в Минское театрально-художественный институт, уже через год был исключен из него за формализм. То же самое произошло и в Ленинградской Академии художеств в 1955 году. В 1958 году ему, тем не менее, удалось закончить Ленинградский театральный институт, бывший островком либерализма в пост-сталинское время. Принимая активное участие в художественной жизни андеграунда, Олег Целков крайне редко выставлялся на неофициальных нонконформистских выставках, проходивших на частных квартирах, в научно-исследовательских институтах и домах культуры. Именно поэтому в 70-е годы он не был участником ни знаменитой "бульдозерной выставки", ни выставки "в Измайлово". В 1960-е годы, наряду с русским авангардом начала века, Олег Целков осваивает традиции французской живописи. Ему нравятся Леже, примитивисты, Рембрандт и Бекон, мексиканцы Ороско и Ривера. Но настоящим открытием для него, как и для многих художников его поколения, стал сюрреализм. Точкой отсчета индивидуального творческого пути сам художник считает момент, когда в 1960 году он случайно изобразил на холсте человеческое лицо своеобразного облика. "Я написал как бы портрет, однако не портрет отдельно взятого субъекта, а портрет всеобщий, всех вместе в одном лице и - до ужаса знакомом". Язык живописных произведений Олега Целкова включает самые противоречивые составляющие. Его творческому воображению близок театр абсурда, трагикомическая буффонада. Художник изобретает свой театр, в котором похожие на гомункулусов надувные резиновые куклы разыгрывают по сценарию автора разные сцены - смешные, страшные и трагические. Сомнамбулической атмосфере картин соответствует таинственное свечение красок, легкая вибрация фона, которой художник добивается едва заметной фактурностью. Произведения Олега Целкова находятся в Государственном Русском музее, Zimmerly Art Museum (Нью-Джерси, США), в публичных и частных коллекциях России, США, Франции, Японии. К выставке издан каталог.
Выставки
Художники и коллекционеры – Русскому музею. Дары. 1898–2019. Избранное

Художники и коллекционеры – Русскому музею. Дары. 1898–2019. Избранное

29 июля—14 ноября 2020

В 2020 году Государственный Русский музей празднует 125 лет со дня своего основания. В честь юбилея музей подготовил для посетителей масштабную выставку «Художники и коллекционеры – Русскому музею. Дары», которая расположится в залах сразу четырех дворцов: в Корпусе Бенуа Михайловского дворца, в Мраморном дворце, в Михайловском замке и в Строгановском дворце.

Заказать билеты

Памяти Константина Симуна. 1934–2019

Памяти Константина Симуна. 1934–2019

29 июля—14 ноября 2020

Выставка посвящена памяти знаменитого ленинградского скульптора, участника группы «одиннадцати» Константина Михайловича Симуна (1934–2019). 

Заказать билеты

Также в Русском музее
Русский музей рекомендует
Информация по санитарно-эпидемиологическим нормам
Информация по санитарно-эпидемиологическим нормам

Оставить отзыв по соблюдению организацией санитарно-эпидемиологических норм.
Поблагодарите или направьте пожелания по улучшению условий безопасной деятельности.

Шедевры коллекции
Шедевры коллекции

Сборник шедевров, отобранный искусствоведами Русского музея, позволит вам составить первое впечатление о коллекции Русского музея.

Начать просмотр

Виртуальные прогулки
Виртуальные прогулки

Виртуальные туры, созданные в технологии панорамной съемки, знакомят с экспозицией, временными выставками, интерьерами и внешним обликом дворцов и садов Русского музея.

Подробнее

Портал КУЛЬТУРА.РФ
Портал КУЛЬТУРА.РФ

Гуманитарный просветительский проект, посвященный культуре России. Рассказывает о событиях и людях в истории литературы, архитектуры, музыки, кино, театра, а также о народных традициях и памятниках природы.

Перейти на сайт